Awaiting Blossoms…

A blind child
guided by his mother,
admires the cherry blossoms…

cherry1

Here it is, the center of Winter and I’m already daydreaming of signs of Spring.  It took me a minute or two to follow this little obsession with cherry blossoms back to the source; but the easily identifiable tap root derived from Mark Nepo’s ‘The Book of Awakening’, 2000, which look forward to reading every morning before I head out into the world.  I love this little poem by Kikakou, as small, yet mighty internal Japanese parable.  You can check out Nepo’s interpretation of this poem here:  http://www.marknepo.com/teaching_nature.php

chblcloseup

To follow are examples of cherry blossom attempts; all deliberate acts of trying to manifest the essence and lessons of the cherry blossom in this read.  But all in all…they’re are just absolutely gorgeous flowering trees.  Additionally, any natural or synthetic perfumes stemming from the cherry blossom are wicked.

I really like using the Zentangle patterns Sutygal and Cyme for the flowers.  Although, in retrospect I should have selected just one.   http://tanglepatterns.com/2015/01/how-to-draw-sutygal.html

cherry2bwcherry3

cherry4

This was supposed to be the culminating version of my cherry blossoms; however, quit while you’re ahead, too much of a good thing, I’m not sure…Perhaps because I attempted to use water colors paint and hardcore artist quality watercolor paper, which is like trying to draw on top of sandpaper….the branches did NOT turn into the charcoal black stunning mimicry of natural branches that I willed them to be… At this point I was no longer channeling or trying to BE the cherry blossom…rather forcing them into early bloom.

cherry5

“…the unsuspecting blossom…become the cherry blossom itself that stops both those who can see and those who cannot.”

cherry6

I did, however, for this one find a super excellent colored pencil in my collection that is the perfect shade of yellow and pink, which will probably become my standard color for any of my moons in the future.

cherry7

Leave a comment